Home / Awards & Honors
International Travel Packages

Awards & Honors

Recognitions / Awards

Delhi U wins awards at NASA Lunabotics


University of Delhi represented by a team from Kirori Mal College and Cluster Innovation Centre, (whose Lunabot was on display at Antardhvani 2013) was one of the 50 International institutions invited to participate in NASA’s Lunabotics Mining Competition 2013 held at the Kennedy Space Center, Florida, USA from 20th to 24th May 2013. The KMC-CIC Lunabotics Team was one of the 12 whose Lunabot was successfully able to mine and dump the lunar simulant! KMC-CIC Lunabotics Team, led by Dr. Sumitra Mohanty, was the only Indian team to bring laurels to their country by winning two of the five categories of prestigious awards at the event.
Read more…

Prof. Girishwar Misra receives National Award for Social Science


Named after Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the National award in the field of Social Science for the year 2009 was recently given to Prof. Girishwar Misra, Dept of Psychology, and Dean Research, University of Delhi. The State Government has instituted three National and three State Level Awards for outstanding contributions in Science, Engineering & Technological Sciences and Social Sciences. The award recognizes Prof. Misra’s eminent work.
Read more…

Dr. ANU KAPUR: Delhi University academic wins prestigious Amartya Sen Award


THE AMARTYA SEN AWARDS are bestowed upon Social Scientists who, in the opinion of the ICSSR, have made a distinguished contribution towards the advancement of knowledge in any field of social science. Each year up to ten Awards are to be conferred.

Citation for Dr. Anu Kapur, Dept of Geography :

Associate Professor in Delhi University and Senior Fellow of the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, Dr. Anu Kapur’s empirical and theoretical research in the past three decades has centred around three critical themes: Environmental Geography, Geography in India and the Study of Disasters.

Devoting considerable efforts in researching geography as a social science in India, she generated knowledge about the history of geography in India and about the leading geographers in India. This resulted in a scholarly critique of the discipline in India. However critiquing geography or geographers was not to become her obsessive engagement and she steered into the Study of Disasters. Her research not only build a model of the web of vulnerability but coined new concepts like ‘disaster –scape’ as different from other scapes and ‘disaster divide by region, class, gender and age. Her research on disasters expresses deep concern about the state of society in India and is steeped in humanism.

As a geographer her contribution has been to awaken the practitioners of the discipline to the dismal state of geography as a social science in India; to contribute to planning in the field of environment, and to demystify the notion of ‘natural disasters’ and argue that disasters are a product of government apathy and human insensitivity in general.

Recognizing her for the Amartya Sen Award, the Selection Committee noted “Anu Kapur has made a transformational impact on Indian Geography by way of generating a fresh discourse and initiating a debate on the state of the discipline in India. Her eminence spreads itself in the wider arena of social sciences, with a firm footing in the theory and methodology of Geography.”

Prof. Daman Saluja receiving award from the President of India


Photograph: The President of India, giving away the award to Prof. Daman Saluja from Dr B R Ambedkar Center for Biomedical Research, University of Delhi on Technology Day (11th May, 2013 ).

Prof. Daman Saluja was one of the distinguished recipients of ‘Biotech Product & Process Development and Commercialization Award of 2013’ instituted by the Government of India. She received this award for her outstanding contribution in the development of novel method of ‘Beacon based PCR diagnostic kit for Neisseria gonorrhoeae and Chlamydia trachomatis’. The diagnostic kit developed by her is highly sensitive and specific and requires minimum infrastructural facility to conduct. The diagnostic kit has been transferred to Industry for commercialization.

DU Professor wins prestigious ‘Hind Rattan Award’

Microsoft Word - DU_Prof._wins_Hind_Rattan_Award[2]

Padma Kant Shukla, distinguished professor of physics at Ruhr University Bochum, Germany, and an adjunct professor at the Department of Physics and Astrophysics, University of Delhi, will be honoured with the “Hind Rattan Award” (The Jewel of India) by the Prime Minister of India in recognition of his contributions to physics.

Padma Shukla, (b 1950) hails from the village Tulapur, Uttar Pradesh (UP), India. After his Ph. D. in Physics from BHU he moved to Bochum, Germany in 1973 where he holds a permanent RUB International Chair (RUB Distinguished Physics Professor). Prof Shukla is internationally renowned and one of the most outstanding productive physicists with over 1410 papers in journals of high impact factor and an H index of 61. He has received numerous prizes, medals, honorary degrees, and fellowship of academies and societies e.g., fellow of American Physical Society, Institute of Physics, London, Royal Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow to mention a few.

The ceremony will take place during the 32nd International Congress of Non-resident Indians (NRI) on 25 January 2013 in Ashok Hotel Delhi, India

Delhi U Researcher gets M.N. Srinivas Memorial Prize 2012

4122012_research_Shelly Tara

Ms. Shelly Tara, Senior Fellow at Women’s Studies and Development Centre, University of Delhi has been awarded this year’s M. N. Srinivas Memorial Prize 2012. The Professor M. N. Srinivas Endowment Fund was jointly set up by the Indian Sociological Society and the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR) in 2001. This Fund instituted M. N. Srinivas Memorial prize for one young sociologists/social anthropologists (below 40 years), for publishing the best sociological/social anthropological paper in India.

Ms. Shelly Tara has been awarded this prize for her article entitled “Private Space in Public Transport: Locating Gender in the Delhi Metro” published in Economic and Political Weekly (Vol. XLVI, No. 51, 17 December 2011).

The award will be presented to her, during the inaugural session of the forthcoming XXXVIII All-India Sociological Conference, which will be held on 27 December 2012 at the Mohanlal Sukhadia University, Udaipur.


Dronacharya award to Teacher of Acharya Narendra Dev College



Prof. Avinash Khare Fellow Indian National Science Academy (INSA)
Dr. K.P. Singh SATKAL Young Librarian Award 2011
Prof. Indira Goswami Jnanpith Award
Prof. Krishna Kumar Jawahar Lal Nehru Fellowship
Prof. Deepak Pental Jawahar Lal Nehru Fellowship
Prof. S.K. Tandon Fellow, Third World Academy of Science
Prof. A.K. Tyagi National Bioscience Award, DBT
Prof. A. Grover BM Birla Science Prize in Biology
Prof. Hira Lal Chakravarthy Award, ISCA
Dr. R.C. Kuhad Alembic Award 2000
Dr. M.V. Rajam Rockfeller Foundation Bio Technology Career Fellowship
Prof Shirin Rathore Gold medal IAA 2000
Prof. Anil K. Tyagi Ranbaxy Research Award 1999
Prof. V.K. Chaudhary VASVIK Award 1997
AIBAAward 1999
National Biotechnology Award 2002
Prof. N.K. Ray Bhatnagar Award
Dr. Debi Sarkar Bhatnagar Award
Prof. S.K. Tandon Bhatnagar Award
Prof. Anil K. Tyagi Bhatnagar Award
Prof. Dinesh Singh Adjunct Professor, University of Houston, Texas
SEO Service Delhi



Google Plus


Real Time Analytics