Home / Delhi University News / A going stone for national legislative issues
International Travel Packages

A going stone for national legislative issues

Delhi University election: A going stone for national legislative issues

The Delhi University Students Unions elections are a stepping stone for all those candidates who would like to enter into politics. Elections for four important posts would be conducted on 11th September. Here are some facts of the student union election of the Delhi University.

• What is DUSU?
DUSU stands for Delhi University Students Union that is, a student’s organization of the University of Delhi. It is a representative constitution of students from all the colleges and faculties of the Delhi University. All the colleges have their own representative represent in the Delhi University Colleges. Each college has its own students’ union and they conduct separate elections every year for them.

• Important information about DUSU election 2015
The counting of votes will be done on 12th September and declaration of results will also be done on the same day. The polls will be held in two phases – morning and evening on 11th September. This year, there are 35 candidates who have stood against each other for the four posts of the DUSU office bearers and there are 9 candidates contesting for the President’s post.

The Political parties contesting the elections this time are ABVP (Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad) and NSUI (National Students Union of India) that is supported by Congress. AAP and SAD are the new comers for this election.

The student’s wing of the AAP, Chhatra Yuve Sangharsh Samiti, has also participated for various posts to check the credibility of the party among the students. The Choice Based credit system was formed to upgrade the facilities of hostel, provide good accommodation and make the campus security tighter. These are some of the issues faced by people this time.

• Name of the candidates
Pradeep Vijayran, a final year LLB scholar is contending for the post of President and Prerna Singh of Ram Lal Anand College was elected to stand for the Vice President post by the ABVP. From NSUI, you can see Amit Sehrawat from the Law Faculty standing for the secretary’s post and Deepak Chaudhary from Hansraj College for the Joint Secretary’s post.

Satender Awana from the Buddhist Studies department stood for the President’s post and Sunny Dedha from the Faculty of Law was nominated for a Vice President’s post from the ABVP party. For the Secretary and Joint Secretary post, there are two candidates – Anjali Rana from the Lakshmi Bai College and Chatrapal Yadav from the Department of Buddhist Studies. The candidates nominated by the AAP are Hitanshi Chauhan from the Satyavati College, Garima Rana and Rahul Raj Aryan from the Hindu College and Kuldeep Bidhuri from the PGDAV College.

• Who were the last year’s winners?
In 2014, ABVP had won the DUSU election mainly due to Prime Minister, Narender Modi’s success in the Lok Sabha Elections. The BJP had defeated the Congress’s NSUI and took over all the four positions. The current President of DUSU is Mohit Nagar and the Vice President is Parvesh Malik. The secretary seat is held by Kanika Shekkhawat and the Joint Secretary is Ashutosh Mathur.

• Famous politicians from DU the Delhi University
If you notice, you’ll find that many politicians have their roots in the DUSU. They started their political career from the student union elections. Some of the Congress leaders like Meira Kumar, Ambika Soni, Salman Khurshid, Virbhadra Singh, Shashi Tharoor, Krishna Tirath, Sachin Pilot are from DU. Talking about the BJP Leaders, the Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Vijay Jolly and Vijay Goel were part of the DUSU once upon a time. Apart from these, Alka Lamba from the AAP, Nupur Sharma and Nakul Bhardwaj also started their political career from DUSU.

SEO Service Delhi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Google Plus


Real Time Analytics